Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Monday, March 24, 2014

Issue No. 4

Third meeting on:

Monitor issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, to review the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations


Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada:

Kerry Buck, Political Director and Assistant Deputy Minister, International Security;

Gloria Wiseman, Director, Human Development and Gender Equality.

National Defence:

Jill Sinclair, Assistant Deputy Minister Policy;

Major Glenn Sylvester, Deputy Commandant of the Peace Support Training Centre.

Nobel Women's Initiative:

Liz Bernstein, Executive Director.

Canadian Voice of Women for Peace:

Marilou McPhedran, Member of the Board of Directors.

Women, Peace and Security Network — Canada:

Jessica Tomlin, Executive Director, MATCH International.

UN Women:

Nahla Valji, Policy Adviser and Officer in Charge, Peace and Security Cluster (by video conference).

International Civil Society Action Network:

Sanam Naraghi-Anderlini, Co-founder (by video conference).

Institute for Inclusive Security:

Jacqueline O'Neill, Director (by video conference).


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Eggleton, P.C., Hubley, Ngo, Seidman, Unger

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Meredith was removed from the membership of the committee, replacement pending (March 11, 2014).