Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue 8 - Minutes of Proceedings - October 8, 2014

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 8, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:45 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Dennis Dawson, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dagenais, Dawson, Eggleton, P.C., Greene, MacDonald, Maltais, Plett and Verner, P.C. (8).

In attendance: Terrence Thomas and Dillan Theckedath, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament; Mona Ishack, Communications Officer, Senate Communications Directorate.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Monday, December 9, 2013, the committee continued its study on the challenges faced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation in relation to the changing environment of broadcasting and communications. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 2.)


Canadian Media Guild:

Carmel Smyth, National President;

Marc-Philippe Laurin, CBC Branch President;

Jeanne d'Arc Umurungi, Communications Director.

Ms. Smyth, Mr. Laurin and Ms. Umurungi each made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:10 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top