Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016

Issue No. 8

Nineteenth and twentieth meetings:

Study on foreign relations and international trade generally


Sixth meeting:

Study on recent political and economic developments in Argentina in the context of their potential impact on regional and global dynamics, including on Canadian policy and interests, and other related matters


Wednesday, May 18, 2016

As an individual:

Mustafa Dzhemilev, Member of Parliament, Parliament of Ukraine and Commissioner of the President of Ukraine for the Affairs of the Crimean Tatars.

Embassy of Ukraine:

His Excellency Andrii Shevchenko, Ambassador.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Canadian Association of Importers and Exporters:

Joy Nott, President.

Business Council of Canada:

Brian Kingston, Vice President, Fiscal and International Issues.

Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives:

Stuart Trew, Senior Editor, The Monitor.


The Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Percy E. Downe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Cordy, Dawson, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Housakos, Johnson, Marshall, Martin, Ngo, Oh, Rivard

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Poirier (May 19, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (May 19, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (May 19, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (May 17, 2016).