Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016

Issue No. 12

Eighth meeting:

Study on recent political and economic developments in Argentina in the context of their potential impact on regional and global dynamics, including on Canadian policy and interests, and other related matters


Twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth meetings:

Study on foreign relations and international trade generally


Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Mining Association of Canada:

Pierre Gratton, President and CEO.

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

C.D. Howe Institute:

Daniel Schwanen, Vice President, Research (by video conference).

Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Monique Moreau, Director, National Affairs.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

As individuals:

Dan Breznitz, Munk Chair of Innovation Studies and Co-director of the Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto (by video conference).

Ross Hornby, Vice-President, Government Affairs and Policy.

Export Development Canada:

Todd Evans, Principal Economist.


The Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Percy E. Downe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Cools, Cordy, Dawson, Eaton, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Housakos, Marshall, Ngo, Poirier

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (November 3, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (November 1, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (October 27, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (October 27, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Poirier (October 26, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (October 26, 2016).