Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on 
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Issue No. 15 - Minutes of Proceedings - December 14, 2016

OTTAWA, Wednesday, December 14, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met this day at 4:17 p.m., in room 160- S, Centre Block, the deputy chair, the Honourable Percy E. Downe, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, Cordy, Dawson, Downe, Eaton, Ngo, Oh and Poirier (9).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Bovey, Gold, Moore and Woo (4).

In attendance: Natalie Mychajlyszyn, Pascal Tremblay, Alexandra Smith and Karine Azoulay, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on November 17, 2016, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-226, An Act to provide for the taking of restrictive measures in respect of foreign nationals responsible for gross violations of internationally recognized human rights and to make related amendments to the Special Economic Measures Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No 14.)


Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights:

The Honurable Irwin Cotler, Founder and Chair.

The deputy chair made a statement.

Mr. Cotler made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:03 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:08 p.m., the committee resumed with the chair, Senator Andreychuk, presiding.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on October 5, 2016, the committee began its consideration of Bill S-219, An Act to deter Iran-sponsored terrorism, incitement to hatred, and human rights violations.


The Honourable Senator David Tkachuk, Sponsor of the Bill.

Foundation for Defense of Democracies:

Sheryl Saperia, Director of Policy (Canada).

Canadian Coalition Against Terror:

        Danny Eisen, Co-Founder.

The chair made a statement.

At 5:10 p.m., the deputy chair, Senator Downe, took the chair.

Senator Tkachuk and Ms. Saperia made statements and, together with Mr. Eisen, answered questions.

At 5:45 p.m., the chair, Senator Andreychuk, took the chair.

At 5:48 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:49 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee proceeded in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed:

That senators' staff be permitted to remain in the room during the in camera portion of the meeting.

It was agreed:

That the committee allow the transcription of the in camera portion of today's meeting, that one copy be kept in the office of the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members present or by the committee analysts; and

That the transcript be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

It was agreed:

That the draft report entitled Free Trade Agreements: A Tool for Economic Prosperity be adopted; and that the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be empowered to approve the final version of the report taking into consideration this meeting's discussion, including the executive summary and recommendations, with any necessary editorial, grammatical and translation changes required; and that the steering committee be empowered to make decisions on behalf of the committee to publicize the report with the support of the Senate Communications Directorate, including determining the appropriate timing for tabling the report.

It was agreed:

That pursuant to the order adopted by the Senate on December 7, 2016, the membership of the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be increased by one non-voting member chosen from the senators who are not members of a recognized party, to be designated after the usual consultations.

At 6:06 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Marie-Eve Belzile

Clerk of the Committee