Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable DOUGLAS BLACK

Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018

Issue No. 36

Seventh and eighth meetings:
Study and report on issues and concerns pertaining to cyber security and cyber fraud


Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Cybersecurity and Privacy Institute, University of Waterloo:

Florian Kerschbaum, Interim Director.

Public Safety Canada:

Colleen Merchant, Director General, National Cyber Security Directorate.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Chief Superintendent Jeff Adam, Acting Assistant Commissioner, Technical Operations.

Communications Security Establishment:

André Boucher, Associate Deputy Chief, IT Security.

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Morrison & Foerster LLP:

John P. Carlin, Chair, Global Risk and Crisis Management (by video conference).


The Honourable Douglas Black, Chair

The Honourable Carolyn Stewart Olsen, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Dagenais, *Day (or Mercer), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Marshall, Marwah, Ringuette, *Smith (or Martin), Tkachuk, Unger, Wallin, Wetston, *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (March 22, 2018).

The Honourable Senator MacDonald replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (March 20, 2018).