Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue 35 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 30, 2013

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 30, 2013


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day, at 10:30 a.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Irving Gerstein, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Campbell, Gerstein, Greene, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Maltais, Massicotte, Moore, Nancy Ruth, Oliver, Ringuette, Segal and Tkachuk (13).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Bellemare (1).

In attendance: Brett Stuckey and Adriane Yong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 7, 2013, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-377, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (requirements for labour organizations). (For the complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 34.)


Syndicat de professionnelles et professionnels du gouvernement du Québec:

Richard Perron, President.

Union of Taxation Employees (PSAC):

Adam Jackson, Regional Vice President.

Canadian Association of Professional Employees (CAPE):

Claude Poirier, President.

As an individual:

Moin A. Yahya, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Alberta.

Confédération des syndicats nationaux:

Pierre Patry, Treasurer.

Fengate Capital Management:

Lou Serafini, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer (by video conference).

Canadian Auto Workers:

Jim Stanford, Economist (by video conference).

Canadian LabourWatch Association:

John Mortimer, President.

Fédération interprofessionnelle de la santé du Québec:

Michel Mailhot, 6th Vice President;

Michel Canuel, Lawyer, Union Advisor, Legal Team, FIQ Montréal.

Canadian Nurses Association:

Anne Sutherland Boal, Chief Operating Officer.

As an individual:

Francis Donovan (by video conference).

Doctors Nova Scotia:

Nancy MacCready-Williams, Chief Executive Officer.

Doctors Manitoba:

Matthew Maruca, General Counsel.

Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions:

Arlene Wortsman, Executive Director.

Mr. Perron, Mr. Poirier, Mr. Jackson and Mr. Yahya each made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:33 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:37 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Patry, Mr. Mortimer, Mr. Stanford and Mr. Serafini, Jr., each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:32 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:36 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Mailhot, Ms. MacCready-Williams, Ms. Sutherland Boal, Ms. Wortsman, Mr. Maruca and Mr. Donovan each made a statement and, together with Mr. Canuel, answered questions.

At 1:29 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Keli Hogan

Clerk of the Committee