Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 19 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of November 6, 2014

OTTAWA, Thursday, November 6, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 8:04 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dagenais, Enverga, Maltais, McIntyre, Merchant, Mockler, Ogilvie, Robichaud, P.C., and Unger (10).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly and Jed Chong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 23, 2014, the committee continued its consideration of its study on international market access priorities for the Canadian agricultural and agri-food sector. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 18.)


CropLife Canada:

Dennis Prouse, Vice President, Government Affairs;

Stephen Yarrow, Vice President, Biotechnology.

Canadian Fertilizer Institute:

Clyde Graham, Acting President.

Export Development Canada:

Johane Séguin, Extractive & Resources Vice-President;

Marc Deschenes, Strategic Account Executive.

Mr. Prouse and Mr. Graham made statements and, together with Mr. Yarrow, answered questions.

At 9:05 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:12 a.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Séguin made a statement and, together with Mr. Deschenes, answered questions.

At 9:59 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee