Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 22 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of December 11, 2014

OTTAWA, Thursday, December 11, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 8:05 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dagenais, Enverga, Merchant, Maltais, Mockler, Ogilvie, Oh, Tardif and Unger (10).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Plett (1).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly, Jed Chong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament, and Mona Ishack, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, December 9, 2014, the committee began its consideration of Bill C-18, An Act to amend certain Acts relating to agriculture and agri-food.


The Honourable Gerry Ritz, P.C., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.


Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Veronica McGuire, Executive Director, Program, Regulatory & Trade Policy;

Nicolas McCandie Glustien, Manager, Legislative Affairs.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Rosser Lloyd, Director General, Business Risk Management Programs Directorate, Programs Branch;

Martin Crevier, Assistant Director, Financial Guarantee Programs Division, Programs Branch.

Justice Canada:

Louise Sénéchal, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director, Agriculture and Food Inspection, Legal Services;

Sara Guild, Acting Manager and Senior Counsel, Agriculture and Food Inspection, Legal Services.

Minister Ritz made a statement and, together with Mr. Lloyd and Ms. McGuire, answered questions.

At 8:58 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:05 a.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. McGuire, together with Mr. McCandie Glustien, Mr. Lloyd, Mr. Crevier, Ms. Sénéchal and Ms. Guild, answered questions.

At 10 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee