Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Issue No. 14 - Minutes of Proceedings - October 5, 2016

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 5, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:45 p. m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Larry Smith, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Cools, Cowan, Eaton, Marshall, Mitchell, Pratte, Smith and Tkachuk (9).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (1).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Sylvain Fleury, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the committee continued its study on the federal government's multi-billion dollar infrastructure funding program. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No 7.)


Infrastructure Ontario:

Bert Clark, President and CEO.

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer:

Jean-Denis Fréchette, Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Mostafa Askari, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Peter Weltman, Senior Director, Costing and Program Analysis.

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Julie Gelfand, Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development.

Kimberley Leach, Principal.

Mr. Clark made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:24 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:28 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Gelfand, Mr. Fréchette and Mr. Weltman made statements and, with Mr. Askari and Ms. Leach, answered questions.

At 8:32 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Gaëtane Lemay

Clerk of the Committee