Skip to content
SECD - Standing Committee

National Security, Defence and Veterans Affairs


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

Issue No. 4 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 16, 2016

OTTAWA, Monday, May 16, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence met this day at 1:01 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Daniel Lang, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., Dagenais, Day, Jaffer, Kenny, Lang, Ngo and White (8).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Moore and Oh (2).

In attendance: Dominique Valiquet and Katherine Simonds, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

The chair presided over the election of the deputy chair.

The Honourable Senator Dagenais moved:

That the Honourable Senator Jaffer be deputy chair of this committee.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

At 1:03 PM, pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, April 14, 2016, the committee began its examination of Bill S-205, An Act to amend the Canada Border Services Agency Act (Inspector General of the Canada Border Services Agency) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.


As an individual:

The Honourable Senator Wilfred P. Moore, sponsor of the bill.

Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the RCMP:

Ian McPhail, Chair;

Richard Evans, Senior Director, Operations;

Joanne Gibb, Director, Research, Policy and Strategic Investigations.

Canadian Human Rights Commission:

Marie-Claude Landry, Chief Commissioner;

Fiona Keith, Counsel, Dispute Resolution Branch.

Canadian Council for Refugees:

Janet Dench, Executive Director (by video conference);

Jenny Jeanes, Co-Chair, Inland Protection Working Group (by video conference).

Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers:

Lorne Waldman, President.

As an individual:

Julie Taub, Immigration lawyer.

Canadian Civil Liberties Association:

Sukanya Pillay, General Counsel and Executive Director (by video conference).

The chair made a statement.

The Honourable Senator Moore made a statement and answered questions.

At 2:09 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 2:12 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Landry and Mr. McPhail each made a statement and, together with Ms. Keith, Mr. Evans and Ms. Gibb, answered questions.

At 3:21 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:34 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Dench, Ms. Jeanes, Ms. Pillay, Ms. Taub and Mr. Waldman each made a statement and, together, answered questions.

At 4:41 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Adam Thompson

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top