Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Issue No. 40 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 19, 2018

OTTAWA, Thursday, April 19, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 10:31 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Campbell, Eggleton, P.C., Manning, Martin, Mégie, Mockler, Munson, Omidvar, Petitclerc, Poirier and Seidman (12).

In attendance: Shaila Anwar, Deputy Principal Clerk, Senate Committees Directorate; Sonya Norris and Marlisa Tiedemann, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 22, 2018, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 39.)


Canadian Public Health Association:

Ian Culbert, Executive Director.

City of Toronto Health Unit:

Dr. Eileen de Villa, Medical Officer of Health (by video conference);

Sudha Sabanadesan, Policy Development Officer (by video conference).

College of Family Physicians of Canada:

Dr. Christine Campbell, Family Medicine Resident.

Association pour la santé publique du Québec:

Lucie Granger, Executive Director.

Rideauwood Addiction and Family Services:

Marion Wright, Executive Director;

Andrew Mendes, Director of Operations.

Pan-Canadian Joint Consortium for School Health:

Katherine Eberl Kelly, Executive Director.

Canadian School Boards Association:

Josh Watt, Representative, Executive Director, Manitoba School Board Association.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Culbert, Dr. de Villa, Dr. Campbell and Ms. Granger each made a statement and, together with Ms. Sabanadesan, answered questions.

At 12 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:04 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Wright, Ms. Kelly and Mr. Watt each made a statement and, together with Mr. Mendes, answered questions.

At 1 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mireille Aubé
Acting Clerk of the Committee

Back to top