Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Issue No. 43 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 9, 2018

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 9, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 2:46 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Eggleton, P.C., Housakos, Lankin, P.C., Maltais, Mégie, Munson, Omidvar, Patterson, Petitclerc, Poirier, Raine and Seidman (13).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Deacon and Mockler (2).

In attendance: Shaila Anwar, Deputy Principal Clerk, Senate Committees Directorate; Sonya Norris and Marlisa Tiedemann, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 22, 2018, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 39.)


Task Force on Cannabis Legalization and Regulation:

The Honourable Anne McLellan, P.C., Chair;

Dr. Mark Ware, Vice-Chair.

Government of New Brunswick:

The Honourable Benoît Bourque, MLA, Minister of Health;

Dr. Jennifer Russell, Chief Medical Officer, Health;

Neill McKay, Senior Policy Advisor, Health;

Patricia Steeves, Chief Operating Officer, Finance.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. McLellan and Dr. Ware each made a statement and answered questions.

At 2:54 p.m., the Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Raine as member of the committee.

At 4:09 p.m., the Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos as member of the committee.

At 4:14 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:16 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Bourque made a statement and, together with Dr. Russell, answered questions.

At 4:49 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mireille Aubé
Acting Clerk of the Committee

Back to top