Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Issue No. 44 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 23, 2018

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 23, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 3:00 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Dean, Eggleton, P.C., Maltais, Manning, McCallum, Mégie, Petitclerc, Poirier, Seidman and Wells (11).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Deacon (1).

In attendance: Shaila Anwar, Deputy Principal Clerk and Barbara Reynolds, Procedural Clerk, Senate Committees Directorate; Sonya Norris and Marlisa Tiedemann, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 22, 2018, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 39.)


Cannabis Canada Council:

Allan Rewak, Executive Director.

Canopy Growth Corporation:

Bruce Linton, Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer.


Dr. Terry Lake, Vice-President of Corporate Social Responsibility.

Town of Smiths Falls:

Shawn Pankow, Mayor.

Canadian Hemp Trade Alliance:

Russ Crawford, President;

Jason Green, Director.

Cannabis Trade Alliance of Canada:

Rosy Mondin, Executive Director.

Hiku Brands:

Will Stewart, Vice-President, Corporate Communications & Public Affairs.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Pankow, Mr. Rewak, Mr. Linton and Dr. Lake each made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:51 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Crawford, Ms. Mondin and Mr. Stewart each made a statement and, together with Mr. Green, answered questions.

At 6:01 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mireille Aubé
Acting Clerk of the Committee

Back to top