Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Issue No. 58 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 1, 2019

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 1, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 4:24 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dasko, Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest-Niesing, Mégie, Munson, Oh, Omidvar, Petitclerc, Poirier, Ravalia and Seidman (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Kutcher and Moodie (2).

In attendance: Mayra Perez-Leclerc and Laura Munn-Rivard, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 21, 2019, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-81, An Act to ensure a barrier-free Canada (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 56.)


As an individual:

The Honourable David Onley, former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario (by video conference).

Canadian Hard of Hearing Association:

Christopher T. Sutton, National Executive Director.


Rosalie Wang, Assistant Professor, Department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy, University of Toronto.

Barrier Free Canada:

Donna Jodhan, President (by video conference).

Canadian Association of the Deaf:

Frank Folino, President.

Public Service Alliance of Canada:

Seema Lamba, Acting Coordinator, Programs Section.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Folino and Ms. Wang each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:28 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:34 p.m., the committee resumed.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Onley, Ms. Jodhan and Mr. Sutton each made a statement.

At 5:57 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:58 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Lamba made a statement and, together with Mr. Onley, Ms. Jodhan and Mr. Sutton, answered questions.

At 6:15 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Daniel Charbonneau
Clerk of the Committee