Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue No. 2 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 12, 2016

OTTAWA, Tuesday, April 12, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:30 a.m., in room 257, East Block, the chair, the Honourable Dennis Dawson, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Boisvenu, Dawson, Doyle, Eggleton, P.C., Greene, MacDonald, Mercer, Runciman and Unger (10).

In attendance: Jed Chong, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, March 9, 2016, the committee continued its study on the development of a strategy to facilitate the transport of crude oil to eastern Canadian refineries and to ports on the East and West coasts of Canada.


Macdonald-Laurier Institute:

Sean Speer, Senior Fellow.

As an individual:

Mike Cleland, Senior Fellow, Institute for Science, Society and Policy, University of Ottawa.

The chair made an opening statement.

Mr. Speer and Mr. Cleland made statements and answered questions.

The committee considered revisions to the budget application adopted on March 22, 2016 relating to its study on the transport of crude oil.

It was agreed that the following revised special study budget application relating to its study on the transport of crude oil, for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017, be approved for submission to the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration:

General Expenses                                                                                 $ 0

Activity 1: Edmonton, Calgary and Vancouver                                      $ 190,376

Activity 2: Montreal, Saint John, Halifax and Port Hawkesbury (NS)     $ 164,276

TOTAL                                                                                               $ 354,652

At 10:58 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee