OTTAWA, Tuesday, June 8, 2021


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of March 30, 2021, the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day by videoconference at 9:06 a.m. [ET], the chair, the Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, presiding. This meeting is considered to have taken place in the parliamentary precinct.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Black (Alberta), Bovey, Carignan, P.C., Cotter, Galvez, Massicotte, McCallum, Miville-Dechêne, Patterson, Simons and Verner, P.C. (11).

Other senator present by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Griffin (1).

Participating in the meeting: Barbara Reynolds and Vincent Labrosse, Procedural Clerks, Committees Directorate; Sam Banks and Jesse Good, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on June 2, 2021, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-12, An Act respecting transparency and accountability in Canada’s efforts to achieve net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by the year 2050.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Tsleil-Waututh Nation:

Leah George-Wilson, Chief;

Bridget Doyle, Environment and Climate Change Group Leader, Neegan Burnside.

Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation:

Lisa Tssessaze, Director, Dene Lands and Resource Management.

Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers:

Shannon Joseph, Vice-President, Government Relations and Indigenous Affairs.

The Transition Accelerator:

Dan Wicklum, Chief Executive Officer.

The chair made a statement.

Chief George-Wilson and Ms. Tssessaze each made a statement and, together with Ms. Doyle, answered questions.

At 9:19, the committee suspended.

At 9:34, the committee resumed.

At 9:36, the committee suspended.

At 9:39, the committee resumed.

At 10:16, the committee suspended.

At 10:17, the committee resumed.

Ms. Joseph and Mr. Wicklum each made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:15 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Chantal Cardinal

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top