Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Bill C-23, An Act to establish the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and to make consequential amendments to other Acts
1997-03-05
Bill C-29, An Act to regulate interprovincial trade in and the importation for commercial purposes of certain manganese-based substances
1996-12-17
Issues relating to energy, environment and natural resources generally in Canada
1996-03-27
Tuesday, March 9, 1999 at 10:00 AM
  • Colin Hunt, Director, Policy and Publications (As an Individual)
  • Murray Stewart, President & C.E.O. (From the Canadian Nuclear Association:)
Tuesday, December 10, 1996 at 9:10 AM
Wednesday, November 27, 1996 at 12:15 PM
Tuesday, October 22, 1996 at 9:40 AM
Wednesday, October 2, 1996 at 12:15 PM
Wednesday, May 29, 1996 at 12:15 PM
Matters related to the implementation and application of the Act to accelerate the use of alternative fuels for internal combustion engines
1996-03-27
Wednesday, June 12, 1996 at 12:25 PM
Tuesday, June 11, 1996 at 9:10 AM
Tuesday, May 7, 1996 at 9:30 AM
Tuesday, April 30, 1996 at 9:00 AM
Legend
Audio only
Audio only
Video
Video
Webcast
Webcast
Meeting notice
Meeting notice
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness