Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Broadcasting of Senate proceedings
2009-06-17
Tuesday, December 8, 2009 at 9:39 AM
  • Blair Armitage, Principal Clerk, Communications (Senate of Canada)
  • Hélène Bouchard, Director, Information Services Directorate (Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, December 2, 2009 at 12:25 PM
  • Blair Armitage, Principal Clerk, Communications (Senate of Canada)
  • Hélène Bouchard, Director, Information Services Directorate (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 9:35 AM
Tuesday, November 17, 2009 at 9:35 AM
  • Martha Fusca, President and CEO (Stornoway Communications)
  • Glenn O'Farrell, Corporate Strategy Advisor (GPO Corp)
Tuesday, October 20, 2009 at 9:36 AM
  • Robert Buchan, Corporate Secretary, Board of Directors (CPAC)
  • Ken Stein, Chairman, Board of Directors (CPAC)
  • Colette Watson, President and General Manager (CPAC)
  • Eitan Weisz, Manager of Technical Operations (CPAC)
Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 9:34 AM
  • The Honourable Tommy Banks, Senator (Senate of Canada)
  • The Honourable Hugh Segal, Senator (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 9:35 AM
Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 12:18 PM
  • Charles Robert, Principal Clerk, Chamber Operations and Procedure Office (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, March 31, 2009 at 10:05 AM
Wednesday, March 25, 2009 at 12:09 PM
  • Charles Robert, Principal Clerk, Chamber Operations and Procedure Office (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 10:04 AM
  • Charles Robert, Principal Clerk, Chamber Operations and Procedure Office (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, March 10, 2009 at 9:33 AM
Tuesday, March 3, 2009 at 10:04 AM
  • Alain Wood, Director, Interpretation and Parliamentary Translation (Translation Bureau)
  • Charles Robert, Principal Clerk, Chamber and Procedure Office (Senate of Canada)
Examine the manner in which committee member substitutions are made and in particular the need for temporary as well as permanent replacements of committee members
2009-05-28
Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 9:35 AM
Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 9:36 AM
  • Heather Lank, Principal Clerk, Committees Directorate (Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, June 17, 2009 at 12:21 PM
  • The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, P.C., Senator (Senate of Canada)
  • The Honourable Lowell Murray, P.C., Senator (Senate of Canada)
Consideration of the matter of the Government's erroneous statement concerning the proceedings of the Senate, as appeared on its website "actionplan.gc.ca"
2009-04-21
Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 12:13 PM
Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 9:35 AM
Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 9:33 AM
  • Laurent Marcoux, A/Director General of Operations, Communications & Consultations (Privy Council Office)
  • Charles Robert, Principal Clerk, Chamber Operations and Procedure Office (Senate of Canada)
Study on the Senate committee system as established under rule 86, taking into consideration the size, mandate, and quorum of each committee; the total number of committees; and available human and financial resources
2009-03-25
Tuesday, November 17, 2009 at 9:35 AM
  • Martha Fusca, President and CEO (Stornoway Communications)
  • Glenn O'Farrell, Corporate Strategy Advisor (GPO Corp)
Tuesday, June 23, 2009 at 9:37 AM
  • The Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator (Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, June 17, 2009 at 12:21 PM
  • The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, P.C., Senator (Senate of Canada)
  • The Honourable Lowell Murray, P.C., Senator (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, June 16, 2009 at 9:37 AM
  • The Honourable Pamela Wallin, Senator (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 9:38 AM
  • Heather Lank, Principal Clerk, Committees Directorate (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 9:37 AM
  • The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, P.C., Senator (Senate of Canada)
  • The Honourable Colin Kenny, Senator (Senate of Canada)
  • The Honourable Terry Stratton, Senator (Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:20 PM
  • Charles Robert, Principal Clerk, Chamber Operations and Procedure Office (Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 9:39 AM
  • Sonia L'Heureux, Assistant Parliamentary Librarian (Library of Parliament)
Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at 10:04 AM
Legend
Audio only
Audio only
Video
Video
Webcast
Webcast
Meeting notice
Meeting notice
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness