Studies & Bills

Information prior to the 40th Parliament is from notices of meetings. For the official record, please refer to the related minutes and transcripts.

There are limited electronic records available for the period prior to the 35th Parliament. For historical information, please contact: or 1-800-267-7362

Studies & Bills Date Referred Session  note  note
Bill C-465, An Act respecting a National Hunting, Trapping and Fishing Heritage Day
Bill C-442, An Act to establish a National Holocaust Monument
Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 10:28 AM
  • Yaron Ashkenazi, Executive Director (The Canadian Society of Yad Vashem)
  • Bernie M. Farber, Chief Executive Officer (Canadian Jewish Congress)
  • Tim Uppal, Member of Parliament for Edmonton-Sherwood (As an Individual)
Bill C-302, An Act to recognize the injustice that was done to persons of Italian origin through their "enemy alien" designation and internment during the Second World War, and to provide for restitution and promote education on Italian-Canadian history
Bill S-209, An Act respecting a national day of service to honour the courage and sacrifice of Canadians in the face of terrorism, particularly the events of September 11, 2001
Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 at 4:19 PM
  • The Honourable Jason Kenney, P.C., M.P., Minister (Citizenship and Immigration Canada)
  • Mark Davidson, A/Director General, Immigration Branch (Citizenship and Immigration Canada)
  • Les Linklater, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Program Policy (Citizenship and Immigration Canada)
  • Elaine Menard, Legal Counsel (Citizenship and Immigration Canada)
Thursday, March 3, 2011 at 10:28 AM
  • James Bissett, Member of the Advisory Board (Center for Immigration Policy Reform)
  • Richard Kurland, Lawyer (Kurland Tobe Lawyer)
  • Phil Mooney, Past President (Canadian Association of Professional Immigration Consultants)
  • Ryan Rosenberg, Lawyer (Larlee Rosenberg, Barristers and Solicitors)
  • John Ryan, Chief Executive Officer (Canadian Society of Immigration Consultants)
  • Nigel Thomson, Chair (Canadian Society of Immigration Consultants)
Examine the progress in implementing the 2004, 10-Year Plan to Strengthen Health Care
Thursday, March 10, 2011 at 10:28 AM
  • John Abbott, Chief Executive Officer (Health Council of Canada)
  • Gary Catlin, Director General, Director General, Health, Justice and Special Surveys Branch (Statistics Canada)
  • Abby Hoffman, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister (Health Canada)
  • Dr. Jack Kitts, Chair (Health Council of Canada)
  • Gigi Mandy, Director, Canada Health Act Division (Health Canada)
  • Claudia Sanmartin, Senior Analyst, Health Analysis Division (Statistics Canada)
  • John Wright, President and CEO (Canadian Institute for Health Information)
Bill C-31, An Act to amend the Old Age Security Act (Eliminating Entitlements for Prisoners Act)
Thursday, December 9, 2010 at 10:31 AM
  • The Honourable Diane Finley, P.C., M.P., Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development (As an Individual)
  • Ruth Gagnon, Member, Board of Directors (Association des services de réhabilitation sociale du Québec)
  • Kevin Gaudet, Federal Director (Canadian Taxpayers Federation)
  • Don Head, Commissioner (Correctional Service of Canada)
  • Irving Kulik, Executive Director (Canadian Criminal Justice Association)
  • Jacques Paquette, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Security and Social Development Branch (Human Resources and Skills Development Canada)
  • Justin Piché, Member, Policy Review Committee (Canadian Criminal Justice Association)
  • Sharon Rosenfeldt, President (Victims of Violence)
Bill C-36, An Act respecting the safety of consumer products
Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 4:25 PM
Thursday, November 25, 2010 at 10:31 AM
  • Anu Bose, Ottawa Office Head (Option Consommateurs)
  • Pamela Fuselli, Executive Director (Safe Kids Canada)
  • Michael Janigan, Legal Counsel (Option Consommateurs)
  • Patricia Kosseim, General Counsel, Policy and Parliamentary Affairs Branch (Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada)
  • Melanie Millar-Chapman, Manager, Strategic Research (Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada)
  • Carol Osmond, Vice President Policy (Canadian Association of Importers and Exporters)
  • Jennifer Stoddart, Privacy Commissioner (Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada)
  • Cyndee Todgham Cherniak, Counsel, Lang Michener LLP (As an individual)
Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 4:15 PM
  • The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, P.C., M.P, Minister of Health ()
  • Paul Glover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch (Health Canada)
  • Robert Ianiro, Director, Consumer Product Safety Bureau (Health Canada)
  • Diane Labelle, General Counsel, Legal Services (Health Canada)
  • Athana Mentzelopoulos, Director General, Consumer Product Safety Directorate (Health Canada)
Bill S-218, An Act respecting Canada-Russia Friendship Day
Bill C-40, An Act to establish National Seniors Day
Wednesday, October 20, 2010 at 4:17 PM
  • The Honourable Diane Ablonczy, P.C., Minister of State (Seniors) ()
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast

Orders of Reference

A committee’s order of reference is the Order of the Senate that authorizes it to examine a bill or to undertake a special study. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. Three standing committees do, however, have permanent orders of reference, allowing them to undertake their work without waiting for a specific order of reference. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament (responsible for proposing amendments to the rules of the Senate, examining questions of privilege and consideration of the orders and customs of the Senate and privileges of Parliament), the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (responsible for the financial and administrative matters relating to the internal management of the Senate) and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.