Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable GHISLAIN MALTAIS

Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016

Issue No. 17

First, second and third meetings:

Study on the acquisition of farmland in Canada and its potential impact on the farming sector


Thursday, October 20, 2016

Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Ron Bonnett, President (by video conference);

Scott Ross, Director, Business Risk Management and Farm Policy.

Canadian Young Farmers' Forum:

Paul Glenn, Chair.

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

Keystone Agricultural Producers of Manitoba:

Dan Mazier, President.

Agriculture Producers Association of Saskatchewan:

Norm Hall, President.

Alberta Federation of Agriculture:

Lynn Jacobson, President.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Statistics Canada:

Greg Peterson, Director General, Agriculture, Energy, Environment and Transportation Statistics Branch;

Stephen Boyd, Unit Head, Agriculture Division.

Ontario Federation of Agriculture:

Don McCabe, President.


The Honourable Ghislain Maltais, Chair

The Honourable Terry M. Mercer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Dagenais, Gagné, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Merchant. Ogilvie, Oh, Plett, Pratte, Raine, Tardif, Unger

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (October 26, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (October 26, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (October 24, 2016).