Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable CHANTAL PETITCLERC

Monday, May 27, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019

Issue No. 61

Fifth and sixth (final) meeting:
Bill C-83, An Act to amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and another Act

First and second meetings:
Subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 15, 16, 18, 19 and 20 of Part 4, and in Subdivisions C, K and L of Division 9 of Part 4 of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures

THE THIRTY-FIFTH REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE (Bill C-83, An Act to amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and another Act, with amendment and observations)


Wednesday, May 29, 2019

The Honourable Bill Blair, P.C., M.P., Minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

The Honourable Ahmed Hussen, P.C., M.P., Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship.


Monday, May 27, 2019

Public Safety Canada:

Angela Arnet Connidis, Director General, Crime Prevention, Corrections and Criminal Justice Directorate.

Correctional Service Canada:

Jennifer Wheatley, Assistant Commissioner, Health Services;

Luc Bisson, Acting Director General, Executive Secretariat and Chief of Staff;

Marty Maltby, Acting Director General, Aboriginal Initiatives Directorate;

Lee Redpath, Executive Director, Structured Intervention Units.

Department of Justice Canada:

Juline Fresco, Counsel.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Seligman Law:

Robin Seligman, Barrister and Solicitor (by video conference).

Immigration Consultants of Canada Regulatory Council:

John Murray, President and CEO;

Michael Huynh, Director of Professional Conduct.

Canadian Association of Professional Immigration Consultants:

Dory Jade, Chief Executive Officer.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Fraser Valentine, Director General, Refugee Affairs;

André Baril, Senior Director, Refugee Affairs.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Jennifer Lutfallah, Director General, Enforcement and Intelligence Programs.

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees:

Jean-Nicolas Beuze, Representative in Canada.

Canadian Council for Refugees:

Richard Neil Goldman, Member, Legal Affairs Committee (by video conference).

Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers:

Andrew Brouwer, Vice President.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Raymond Kunze, Director General, Internal Audit and Accountability;

Katarina Stephenson, Director, Social Immigration Policy and Programs.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Erika Sheridan, Superintendent and Director, Border Integrity.


The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Chair

The Honourable Judith G. Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Dasko, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest-Niesing, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Manning, Mégie, Mercer, Munson, Oh, Omidvar, Poirier, Ravalia, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Dasko replaced the Honourable Senator Pate (May 29, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen (May 27, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen replaced the Honourable Senator Poirier (May 27, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Deacon (Ontario) replaced the Honourable Senator Kutcher (May 17, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator McInnis (May 16, 2019).

Back to top