Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, March 2, 1999

Issue No. 21

Twelfth meeting on: Aboriginal self-government


Third meeting on: Bill S-14, An Act providing for self-government by the First Nations of Canada


9:00 a.m. meeting

From the Indigenous Bar Association:

David Nahwegahbow, President;

Don Worme, Past President;

Helen Semaganis, Secretary-Treasurer;

Diane Corbiere, Member.

From the First Nations Accountability Coalition:

Rita Galloway, President (Saskatchewan);

Leona Freed, President (Manitoba).

5:00 p.m. meeting

From Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Barry Dewar, Director General, Self-Government Negotiations Branch;

Catherine MacQuarrie, Director, Aboriginal Governance Policy Directorate;

Al Broughton, Senior Counsel;

Allan Cracower, Counsel.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Berntson, Chalifoux, Gill, *Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Mahovlich, Pearson, St. Germain, P.C., Tkachuk.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top