Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, April 27, 1999
Wednesday, April 28, 1999

Issue No. 27

Third and fourth meetings on: Bill C-49, the First Nation Land Management Act
Twenty-third meeting on: Aboriginal self-government


Tuesday, April 27, 1999 (morning sitting)

On Bill-49:

From the Musqueam/Salish Park Residents' Association:

Dr. Jon Kesselman, Director.

From Lawson, Lundell, Lawson & McIntosh:

Mr. Brian J. Wallace, Q.C.

Tuesday, April 27, 1999 (evening sitting)

From the Ontario Association of Lessees on Native Lands:

Ms Suzanne Leclair;

Mr. Hubert E. Mantha, Legal Counsel;

From the Native Women`s Association of Canada:

Ms Marilyn Buffalo;

Ms Lila Duffy, Special Assistant;

Ms Barbara Clifton, Hereditary Chief, Gitsxan, British Columbia;

Ms Marlene Lapierre, First Vice-President.

From the Assembly of First Nations:

Mr. Phil Fontaine, National Chief;

Chief Bill Williams, Squamish Nation.

Wednesday, April 28, 1999

On aboriginal self-government:

From the Laurentian University:

Professor Herb Nabigon.

From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade:

Ambassador Mary Simon, Circumpolar Affairs.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Chalifoux, Cochrane, Gill, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Mahovlich, Pearson, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Robertson removed, substitution pending (March 22, 1999).

Back to top