Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable RONALD D. GHITTER

Tuesday, June 15, 1999
Wednesday, June 16, 1999

Issue No. 19

First and second meetings on: Bill C-32, An Act respecting pollution and the protection of the environment and human health in order to contribute to sustainable development


June 15 and 16, 1999

From the Office of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, Department of the Environment:

Harvey Lerer, Director General;

Karen Lloyd, Manager;

Steve Mongrain, Representative;

Duncan Cameron, Legal Counsel, Justice Department.


The Honourable Ronald D. Ghitter, Chair

The Honourable Nicholas W. Taylor, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Buchanan, P.C., Chalifoux, Cochrane, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Gustafson, Hays, Kenny, Kroft, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 86(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Fitzpatrick substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Johnstone (June 11, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Chalifoux substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Fitzpatrick (June 16, 1999).