Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable TERRANCE R. STRATTON

Tuesday, June 9, 1998

Issue No. 12

First meeting on: Bill C-36, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 24, 1998


From the Department of Finance:

Mr. Tony Valeri, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance;

Ms Jan Elliott, Assistant Director, Social Policy Division;

Ms Kristina Knopp, Legal Counsel.

From Human Resources Development Canada:

Ms Jo Anne Denis, Manager, Learning Programs and Policy, Learning and Literacy Directorate.


The Honourable Terrance R. Stratton, Chairman

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Bolduc, Bryden, Eyton, Forest, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Joyal, P.C., Lavoie-Roux, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Moore, Robichaud, P.C. (Saint-Louis-de-Kent), St. Germain, P.C., Sparrow

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The names of the Honourable Senators Joyal and Bryden substituted for those of the Honourable Senators Ferretti Barth and Johnstone (June 8, 1998).

The names of the Honourable Senators Ferretti Barth, Grafstein, Forest and Robichaud substituted for those of the Honourable Senators Forest, Ferretti Barth, Grafstein and Mercier (June 9, 1998).