Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LORNA MILNE

Wednesday, February 25, 1998

Issue No. 17

Sixth Meeting on: Examination of Bill C-220, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Copyright Act (profit from authorship respecting a crime)


On Bill C-220:

From the Canadian Bar Association:

Ms Tamra Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform;

Mr. Marc-André Blanchard, Chair, Freedom of Expression committee; and

Ms Heather Perkins-McVey, Treasurer, Criminal Justice Section.

Ms Wendy Lill, M.P., NDP, Critic for Heritage Canada.


The Honourable Lorna Milne, Chairman

The Honourable Michel Cogger, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, Doyle, Gigantès, * Graham, P.C., (or Carstairs), Joyal, P.C., Lewis, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Moore, Nolin, Pépin, Rossiter, Watt, Pearson

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Rossiter substituted for that of the Honourable Senator DeWare (February 25, 1998).

The name of the Honourable Senator Doyle substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Jessiman (February 25, 1998).