Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LISE BACON

Thursday, March 12, 1998

Issue No. 6

First Meeting on: Examination of Bill C-17, An Act to amend the Telecommunications Act and the Teleglobe Canada Reorganization and Divestiture Act


From Industry Canada:

Michael Helm, Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch;

Allan MacGillivray, Director, Industry Framework, Telecommunications Policy Branch;

Millie Nickason, Counsel, Legal Services;

Larry Shaw, Director.

From North American Gateway Inc.:

Adrian Science, President and chief Executive Officer.

From ACC Tel Entreprises Ltd.:

Maggs Barrett, Executive Vice President, Local Markets.

From Stentor:

Nick Mulder, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Greg van Koughnett, Vice President, Legal and Corporate Affairs;

Robert Tritt, National Director, International Affairs.

From Teleglobe Inc.:

Mrs. V.M. Bradford, Vice-President, Government and External Relations;

Mr. T. Gregory Kane, Q.C.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chairman

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Bryden, Buchanan, P.C., De Bané, P.C., * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Johnson, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Nolin Perrault, P.C., Poulin, Rompkey, P.C., Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Nolin substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Roberge (March 12, 1998).

The name of the Honourable Senator Bryden substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Mercier (March 11, 1998).

Back to top