Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable JOYCE FAIRBAIRN, P.C.

Thursday, February 3, 2005
Tuesday, February 8, 2005

Issue No. 6

Seventh and eighth meetings on:

The present state and the future of agriculture and forestry in Canada


Thursday, February 3, 2005

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Peter Brackenridge, Acting Executive Vice-President, Office of the President;

Krista Mountjoy, Acting Vice-President, Operations;

Cameron Prince, Executive Director, Animal Products Directorate;

Dr. Gary Little, Veterinary Program Officer, Animal Products Directorate.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Andrew Larsland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services;

Gilles Lavoie, Senior Director General, Team Leader, Food Safety and Quality.

Tuesday, February 8, 2005

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Dr. Bruce A. Archibald, Assistant Deputy Minister, Research Branch;

Dr. Yvon Martel, Chief Scientist, International.


The Honourable Joyce Fairbairn, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Gill, Hubley, Kelleher, P.C., *Kinsella (or Stratton), Mercer, Oliver, Tkachuk

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Ringuette is removed, substitution pending (December 15, 2004).

The name of the Honourable Senator Mercer substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Cordy (December 15, 2004).

The Honourable Senator Sparrow retired, substitution pending (January 4, 2005).