Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Wednesday, February 23, 2005

Issue No. 8

Ninth meeting on:

Mental health and mental illness


Treasury Board Secretariat:

Phil Charko, Assistant Secretary, Pension and Benefits Division.

Correctional Service Canada:

Dr. Françoise Bouchard, Director General, Health Services;

Dr. Michael Bettman, Acting Director General, Offender Programs and Reintegration.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada:

Dr. Sylvie Martin, Acting Director, Immigration Health Program Elaboration.

National Defence:

Brigadier-General Hilary F. Jaeger, Surgeon General;

Colonel D. R. Boddam.

Veterans Affairs Canada:

Brian Ferguson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Veteran Services Branch.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Johnson, LeBreton, *Kinsella, (or Stratton), Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top