Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Friday, May 6, 2005

Issue No. 14

Twelfth meeting on:

Mental health and mental illness


IWK Health Centre:

Andy Cox, Consumer and Mental Health Advocate.

Office of Child & Family Services Advocacy of Ontario:

Judy Finlay, Chief Advocate.

Bluewater District School Board:

Michelle Forge, Superintendent of Student Services.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario:

Dr. Ian Manion, Psychologist.

Department of Health and Wellness of New Brunswick:

Barbara Whitenect, Acting Director of Child & Youth Services.

Sal'I'shan Institute:

Bill Mussell, Manager & Principal Educator; Chair of the Native Mental Health Association of Canada.

McMaster University, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences:

Dr. Ellen Lipman, Child Psychiatrist; Associate Professor, Division of Child Psychiatry; Core Member of Offord Centre of Child Studies.

The Canadian Psychiatric Research Foundation:

Judy Hills, Executive Director.

Brock University:

Richard C. Mitchell, Department of Child and Youth Studies.

Douglas Hospital:

Dr. Mimi Israël, Psychiatrist-in-Chief; Co-director, Clinical Activities Directorate; Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University.

Queen's University, Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry:

Dr. Nasreen Roberts, Director, Adolescent Inpatient & Emergency Service.

School of Nursing, York University:

Dr. Cheryl Van Daalen.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario:

Dr. Simon Davison, Chief of Psychiatry.

Dalhousie University:

Dr. Richard Goldbloom, Professor of Pediatrics; Member of the Consulting staff at the Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Centre.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Johnson, LeBreton, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Pépin, Trenholme Counsell,

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top