Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Monday, May 9, 2005
Tuesday, May 10, 2005
Wednesday, May 11, 2005

Issue No. 15

Thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth meetings on:

Mental health and mental illness


Wednesday, May 11, 2005 - Morning

The Honourable Elvy Robichaud, Minister of Health and Wellness, New Brunswick


Monday, May 9, 2005 - Morning

As individuals:

George MacDonald;

Susan Kilbridge Roper;

Roy Muise;

Sheila Hayes Wallace

Jan House;

Joyce Taylor;

Sheila Morrison.

Monday, May 9, 2005 - Afternoon

Connections Clubhouse:

Nancy Beck, Director.

Survivors of Suicide Support Group (SOS):

George Tomie, Facilitator of the SOS Support Group and family member of a mental health consumer.

Canadian Mental Health Association, Nova Scotia Division:

Carole Tooton, Executive Director.

Capital District Health Authority:

Stephen Ayr, Director of Research.

The Empowerment Connection:

Jean-Pierre Galipeault, Owner.

Mental Health Services, South Shore DHA:

Doug Crossman, Manager.

Dalhousie University:

Dr. Aidan Stokes, Acting Head, Department of Psychiatry.

Department of Health of Nova Scotia, Mental Health Services Branch:

Linda Smith, Acting Executive Director, Children's Mental Health Services and Addictions Treatment;

John Campbell, Director of Adult Mental Health Services.

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 - Morning

Dalhousie University:

Archibald Kaiser, Professor, Faculty of Law, Department of Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine.

Halifax Regional Police:

Christopher McNeil, Deputy Chief.

Commission for Public Complaints against the RCMP:

Shirley Heafey, Chair.

Office of the Ombudsman of Nova Scotia:

Dwight Bishop, Ombudsman;

Christine Brennan, Supervisor of Youth and Senior Services.

The Self Help Connection:

Dr. Linda Bayers, Executive Director.

IWK Health Centre:

Andy Cox, Consumer and Mental Health Advocate.

Tuesday, May 10, 2005 - Afternoon

Alzheimer Society, Nova Scotia:

Menna MacIssac, Director, Program and Operations.

Dalhousie University:

Dr. Patrick McGrath, Canada Research Chair in Pediatric Pain.

IWK Health Centre:

Susan Mercer, Acting Vice-President, Child and Adolescent Mental Health Program;

Dr. Herb Orlik, Clinical Director, Chief of Psychiatry;

Dr. Wade Junek, Consulting Psychiatrist, Day Treatment Services.

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 - Morning

New Brunswick Department of Health and Wellness:

Ken Ross, Assistant Deputy Minister, Mental Health Services.

Options Outreach Employment Inc.:

Karen MacFarlane, Manager/Employment Counsellor

As individuals:

Monette Boudreau;

Édouardine Boudreau.

Our Voice/Notre Voix:

Eugène Leblanc, Publisher and Editor

Wednesday, May 11, 2005 - Afternoon

Shepody Healing Centre:

Bernard Galarneau, Psychologist, Political Director.

New Brunswick Department of Health and Wellness:

France Daigle, Provincial Coordinator, Suicide Prevention Program.

Psychiatric Patient Advocate Services:

Brenda McPherson, Provincial Coordinator.

Canadian Mental Health Association, New Brunswick Division:

Armand Savoie, President.

National Network for Mental Health:

Constance McKnight, National Executive Director.

Victoria Order of Nurses (VON):

Judith Shamian, President and CEO.


Charles Leblanc

Chief Susan Levy-Peters.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Johnson, LeBreton, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top