Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Tuesday, May 31, 2005
Wednesday, June 1, 2005

Issue No. 16

Nineteenth, twentieth, twenty-first, twenty-second meetings on:

Mental health and mental illness


Tuesday, May 31, 2005 (morning session)

Alliance for Mental Illness and Mental Health in Manitoba:

Carol Hiscock, Member.

College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Manitoba:

Dawn Bollman, President;

Annette Osted, Executive Director.

Addictions Foundation of Manitoba:

John Borody, Chief Executive Officer;

Jim Robertson, Chairman of the Board.

Partnership for Consumer Empowerment:

Jason Turcotte, Canadian mental Health Association office in Portage la Prairie.

As an individual:

Roman Marshall, Consumer, Counsellor.


Heather Dowling;

Ruth Minaker, chairperson.

Tuesday, May 31, 2005 (afternoon session)

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs:

Christina Keeper, Suicide Prevention Envisioning Team;

Jason Whitford, Coordinator, Youth Council;

Amanda Meawasige, Youth Council;

Kathleen MacKay, Youth Council;

Ron Evans, Chief of Norway House Cree Nation;

Norman Bone, Chief of Keeseekoowenin First Nation;

Gwen Wasicuna, Community Wellness Worker.

Wednesday, June 1, 2005 (morning session)

As an individual:

Donna Huffman.

Mental Health Services for Children, Youth & Families:

Margaret Synyshyn, Program Director.

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs:

Irene Linklater, Research Director, Research & Policy Development Unit.

Centre for Aboriginal Health Research, University of Manitoba:

Dr. Javier Mignone, Research Associate.

Wednesday, June 1, 2005 (afternoon session)

Canadian Agriculture Safety Association:

Marcel Hacault, Executive Director;

Janet Smith, Manger of the Manitoba Farm and Rural Stress Line;

Kim Moffat, Councellor, Manitoba Farm and Rural Stress Line;

Mental Health Programs of the Brandon Regional Health Authority:

Albert Hajes, Regional Coordinator, Mental Health Programs.

Brent White, Program Manager, Residential and Support Services;

Elaine Morris, Project Mental Health Worker, Children's Medication Follow-Up Project, Brandon Mental Health Programs and Brandon School Division.

Manitoba Centre for Health Policy:

Randy Fransoo, Researcher.

Institute of Gender and Health:

Madeline Boscoe.

Laurel Centre:

Deborah Palmer, Clinical Director.


Sister Johanna Jonker;

Barbara Chatelain.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Johnson, LeBreton, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top