Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Thursday, June 9, 2005

Issue No. 21

Thirtieth and thirty-first meetings on:

Mental health and mental illness


Morning meeting

Alberta Mental Health Self Help Network and the National Network for Mental Heatlh:

Carmela Hutchison, President.

Alberta Mental Health Board:

Sharon Steinhauer, Board Member.

Alberta Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission:

Dave Rodney, MLA, Chair;

Murray Finnerty, Chief Executive Officer;

Bill Bell, Director of Residential Services.

Afternoon meeting

Alberta Mental Health Board, Wisdom Committee:

Sykes Powerface, Co-Chair;

Gloria Laird, Co-Chair.

As an individual:

Geraldine Cardinal.

Alberta Mental Health Board:

Elsie Bastien, Aboriginal Liaison Coordinator.

Regional Mental health Program:

Dr. Alan Gordon.

Alberta Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health:

George Lucki, Chair.

Canadian Mental Health Association, Alberta Division:

Peter Portlock, Executive Director.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Johnson, LeBreton, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top