Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

First Session Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004

Chair: The Honourable JOAN FRASER

Wednesday, December 15, 2004
Thursday, December 16, 2004

Issue No. 5

Thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth and sixteenth meetings on:

The current state of Canadian media industries


Wednesday, December 15, 2004 — Morning meeting:

As individuals:

Will Straw, Associate Professor, Department of Art History and Communication, McGill University;

Enn Raudsepp, Associate Professor and Director, Journalism Department, Concordia University.

Syndicat des travailleurs de l'information du Journal de Montréal:

Martin Leclerc, President;

Jérôme Dussault, Vice-President.

Association des radiodiffuseurs communautaires du Québec:

Lucie Gagnon, Executive Secretary;

Magalie Paré, Director General of CINQ FM Radio Centre-Ville and Member of the Board of Directors of ARCQ.

Wednesday, December 15, 2004 — Afternoon meeting:

Quebec Community Newspapers Association:

George Bakoyannis, Past President of the Quebec Community Newpapers Association, and Publisher of The Chomedey News;

Quebec Community Newspapers Association (continued):

Debbie Dore, Board Member, Quebec Community Newspapers Association, and Office Manager of The Chronicle and of The Westmount Examiner;

Greg Duncan, Executive Director.

Association of Quebec Advertising Agencies:

Yves St-Amand, General Manager;

Gregor Angus, President of BBDO Montreal, and President of the Association of Quebec Advertising Agencies;

François Vary, Consultant and President of the Quebec Council of Media Directors.

As individuals:

Deepak Awasti, Greater Quebec Movement;

Charles Shannon, Montreal Newspaper Guild;

Andre Seleanu, freelance journalist;

Del Hushley.

Thursday, December 16, 2004 — Morning meeting:

Regroupement des syndicats de Gesca:

Monique Prince, Desk Journalist at La Presse, and Coordinator of the Regroupement;

Louis Larivière, Publicity Representative at La Presse, President of the Syndicat des travailleurs de l'information de La Presse;

Charles Côté, Journalist at La Presse, and First Vice-President of the Syndicat des travailleurs de l'information de La Presse;

Fernand Bélanger, Journalist at La Voix de l'Est, and President of the Syndicat national des employés de La Voix de l'Est;

Stéphane Gousse, Desk Employee at Le Soleil, and President of the Syndicat des employés de bureau du Soleil.

Fédération nationale des communications:

Chantale Larouche, President;

Pierre Roger, Secretary General.


Paule Beaugrand-Champagne, President and General Manager;

Denis Bélisle, Secretary General and General Manager of Legal Affairs;

Jacques Lagacé, General Manager of Corporate Affairs.

Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec:

Alain Gravel, President;

Claude Robillard, Secretary General.

Thursday, December 16, 2004 — Afternoon meeting:

Association des journalistes indépendants du Québec:

Fabienne Cabado, independent journalist and Secretary of the AJIQ;

Jean-Sébastien Marsan, independent journalist and President of the AJIQ.

Conseil de presse du Québec:

Raymond Corriveau, President;

Robert Maltais, Secretary General.


The Honourable Joan Fraser, Chair

The Honourable David Tkachuk, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Baker, P.C., Carney, P.C., Chaput, Di Nino, Eyton, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Merchant, Munson, Phalen, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top