Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, October 31, 2006
Wednesday, November 1, 2006

Issue No. 9

Sixth and seventh meetings on:

The Government of Canada's Specific Claims policy


The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., M.P.,
Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians


Tuesday, October 31, 2006

Mamuitun Tribal Council:

Denis Brassard, Specific Claims Coordinator.

Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs:

Debbie Abbott, Executive Director, Nlaka'Paumux Nation Tribal Council.

Wednesday, November 1, 2006

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Michel Roy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Claims and Indian Government;

Audrey Stewart, Director General, Specific Claims Branch.

Department of Justice Canada:

Sylvia Duquette, General Counsel/Manager, Specific Claims.

Indian Claims Commission:

Renée Dupuis, Chief Commissioner.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Campbell, Dyck, Gill, Gustafson, *Hays (or Fraser), Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Segal, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Nolin substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Segal (October 27, 2006).

The name of the Honourable Senator Segal substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Nolin (October 31, 2006).

Back to top