Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006-07

Chair: The Honourable LISE BACON

Tuesday, March 13, 2007
Wednesday, March 14, 2007

Issue No. 9

Thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth and sixteenth meetings on:

The containerized freight traffic handled by Canada's ports


Tuesday, March 13, 2007 (morning meeting)

Vancouver Port Authority:

Captain Gordon Houston, President and CEO.

Fraser River Port Authority:

Captain Allan Domaas, President and CEO.

West Coast Container Freight Handlers Association:

Kevin Ouellette, President;

David Peacock, Vice-President and General Manager, Westran Intermodal;

Rick Cowan, Vice-President, Euroasia Transload;

Fraser Surrey Docks:

Ross Hanson, Executive Vice-President.

Tuesday, March 13, 2007 (afternoon meeting)

City of Moose Jaw:

His Worship Dale McBain, Mayor.

Saskatchewan AgriVision Corp.:

C.M. (Red) Williams, President.

Campbell Agri Business Strategists:

Doug Campbell.

Greater Vancouver Gateway Council:

Bob Wilds, Managing Director.

Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada:

Paul Evans, Co-CEO.

BC Trucking Association:

Paul Landry, CEO.

Wednesday, March 14, 2007 (morning meeting)

DP World Vancouver:

Cliff Stewart, Vice-President, Operations.

TSI Terminal Systems Inc.:

Morley Strachan, Vice-president, Operations and Business Development.

Western Transportation Advisory Council:

Ruth Sol, President.

Lisa Baratta, Manager, Corporate Services.

As an individual:

David Colledge, Colledge Transportation Consulting, Inc.

Wednesday, March 14, 2007 (afternoon meeting)

International Longshore and Warehouse Union:

Tom Dufresne, President.

Vancouver Container Truckers Association:

Paul Uppal, Business Agent;

Pete Smith, National Representative, CAW.

Corporation of Delta:

Her Worship Lois Jackson, Mayor;

Ian Radnidge, Director of Engineering.

City of Prince George:

His Worship Colin Kinsley, Mayor.

TransLink (Greater Vancouver Transportation Authority):

Robert Paddon, Vice-President.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chair

The Honourable David Tkachuk, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Carney, P.C., Dawson, Eyton, *Hervieux-Payette, (or Tardif), Johnson, *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Mercer, Merchant, Munson, Phalen, Zimmer

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Carney, P.C. substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C. (February 28, 2007).

Back to top