Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2007-08

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, April 29, 2008
Wednesday, April 30, 2008 (in camera)

Issue No. 12

Thirteenth and fourteenth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities


Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Manitoba Keewatinook Ininew Okimowin:

Kevin Carlson, Assistant to Grand Chief;

Louis Harper, Legal Political Advisor;

Sydney Garrioch, Grand Chief;

Shirley Castel, Chief, Mathias Colomb Cree Nation.

Gitxsan Nation:

Elmer Derrick, Chief Negotiator;

Gordon Sebastian, Executive Director;

Catherine Palmer, Research Analyst.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Campbell, Dallaire, Dyck, Gill, Gustafson, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Segal

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), the membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Dallaire is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Cowan (April 17, 2008).

The name of the Honourable Senator Gustafson is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Nolin (April 17, 2008).

Back to top