Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

Second Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2007-2008

Chair: The Honourable COLIN KENNY

Monday, January 28, 2008
Monday, February 4, 2008

Issue No. 4

Fifth and sixth meetings on:

Canada's national security policy
(Emergency Preparedness)


Monday, January 28, 2008

City of Ottawa:

John Ash, Manager, Office of Emergency Management;

Rick Larabie, Fire Chief, Ottawa Fire Services;

Sue O'Sullivan, Deputy Chief, Operations Support, Ottawa Police Service;

Anthony DiMonte, Chief, Ottawa Paramedic Service.

Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada:

Scott Broughton, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Management and National Security;

Suki Wong, Director, Critical Infrastructure Policy.

Monday, February 4, 2008

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission:

Scott Hutton, Associate Executive Director, Broadcasting.

Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada:

Serge Beaudoin, Director General, Preparedness and Recovery.

Industry Canada:

Chaouki Dakdouki, Director of Regulatory Planning and Policy.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Dr. David Butler-Jones, Chief Public Health Officer;

Dr. Howard Njoo, Director General, Centre for Communicable Diseases and Infection Control.

Health Canada:

Carolina Giliberti, Assistant Deputy Minister;

Sonja Heikkila, Director General, Office of Emergency Preparedness.


The Honourable Colin Kenny, Chair

The Honourable David Tkachuk, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Banks, Day, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Meighen, Mitchell, Moore, Nancy Ruth, Zimmer

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), the membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Dallaire is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Day (January 29, 2008).

The name of the Honourable Senator Day is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Dallaire (January 30, 2008).

Back to top