Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Wednesday, March 11, 2009
Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Issue No. 2

Third and fourth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and on other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada


Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Elections Canada:

Marc Mayrand, Chief Electoral Officer;

Belaineh Deguefé, Director General, Outreach, Communications and Research.

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Christine Cram, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships;

Michael Roy, Acting Director, Programs and Procedures Directorate;

Sara Filbee, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development;

Rose Kattackal, Director General, Aboriginal Business Branch;

Alan Clarke, Director General, Strategic Policy Branch;

Martin Egan, Director, Additions to Reserves Lands Branch.

As an individual:

Clarence Louie, Chief, Osoyoos Indian Band.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Brown, Campbell, Carstairs, C.P., *Cowan (or Tardif), Dyck, Hubley, Lang, *LeBreton, C.P. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Raine

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Banks (March 26, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (March 25, 2009).

Back to top