Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing
Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL A. MEIGHEN

Wednesday, March 25, 2009
Thursday, March 26, 2009

Issue No. 3

First and second meetings on:

Study on the credit and debit card systems in Canada and their relative rates and fees


Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Department of Finance Canada:

Jeremy Rudin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch.

Competition Bureau Canada:

Richard Taylor, Deputy Commissioner of Competition, Civil Matters Branch;

Martine Dagenais, Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Competition, Civil Matters Branch.

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC):

Ursula Menke, Commissioner.

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Desjardins Group:

Patrice Dagenais, Director, Planning and Product Development;

Susan Murray, Director, Government Relations.

Credit Union Central of Canada:

Brigitte Goulard, Vice-President, Policy;

Douglas Whelan, Director, Payments Policy.

Option consommateurs:

Genevieve Reed, Head of Research and Advocacy;

Anu Bose, Head of the Ottawa Office.


The Honourable Michael A. Meighen, Chair

The Honourable Yoine Goldstein, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Eyton, Fox, P.C., Gerstein, Greene, Harb, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Massicotte, Moore, Oliver, Ringuette

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Meighen replaced the Honourable Senator Duffy (March 26, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Eyton replaced the Honourable Senator Johnson (March 26, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Duffy replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (March 26, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Johnson replaced the Honourable Senator Eyton (March 24, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator Meighen (March 24, 2009).