Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL A. MEIGHEN

Wednesday, April 22, 2009
Thursday, April 23, 2009

Issue No. 5

Fifth and sixth meetings on:

Study on the credit and debit card systems in Canada and their relative rates and fees


Wednesday, April 22, 2009

MasterCard Canada Inc.:

Kevin Stanton, President;

Diane Miquelon, Vice-President and Team Leader;

Andrea Cotroneo, Vice-President, Canada Regional Counsel.

Visa Canada:

Tim Wilson, Head.

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Interac Association:

Mark O'Connell, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Retail Council of Canada:

Diane J. Brisebois, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Giant Tiger Stores Limited:

Greg Farrell, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer.

Canadian Council of Grocery Distributors:

David Wilkes, Senior Vice-President.

Sobeys Inc.:

Paul Jewer, Senior Vice-President Finance and Treasurer.


The Honourable Michael A. Meighen, Chair

The Honourable Yoine Goldstein, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Eyton, Fox, P.C., Gerstein, Greene, Harb, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Massicotte, Moore, Oliver, Ringuette

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Eyton replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (April 23, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Massicotte replaced the Honourable Senator Chaput (April 22, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Eyton (April 21, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Chaput replaced the Honourable Senator Massicotte (April 20, 2009).