Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010-11

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011
Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Issue No. 21

Twenty-ninth and thirtieth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Issues concerning First Nations Education)


Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Walpole Island First Nation:

E. Rex Isaac, Band Councillor, Portfolio: Education.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Government of the Northwest Territories:

Dan Daniels, Deputy Minister, Department of Education, Culture and Employment.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:
Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Nancy Ruth, Patterson, Raine, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Sibbeston replaced the Honourable Senator Dallaire (March 23, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Banks (March 23, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (March 23, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (March 22, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Poirier (March 22, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Banks (March 10, 2011).

Back to top