Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL A. MEIGHEN

Wednesday, February 9, 2011
Thursday, February 10, 2011

Issue No. 17

Fourth and fifth meetings on:

Bill S-201, An Act to amend the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Act
(credit and debit cards)


Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Competition Bureau:

Richard Bilodeau, Acting Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Civil Matters Branch, Division B.

City of Ottawa and Association of Municipal Tax Collectors of Ontario:

Ken Hughes, Deputy Treasurer Corporate Revenue, and President of the Association of Municipal Tax Collectors of Ontario.

University of Saskatchewan (by video conference):

Richard Florizone, Vice-President, Finance;

Marion Van Impe, Director, Student Accounts and Treasury.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Interac Association:

Mark O'Connell, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Desjardins Group (by video conference):

Patrice Dagenais, Director, Payment Services and Business Partnerships, Vice-President Desjardins Cards Services;

Bernard Brun, Director, Government Relations.


The Honourable Michael A. Meighen, Chair

The Honourable Céline Hervieux- Payette, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Frum, Greene, Harb, Kochhar, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau) Massicotte, Mockler, Moore, Oliver, Ringuette, Smith (Saurel)

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Gerstein (February 10, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Smith (Saurel) replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (February 9, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Greene replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (February 4, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Harb replaced the Honourable Senator Poy (February 3, 2011).