Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Monday, October 18, 2010
Wednesday, October 20, 2010
Thursday, October 21, 2010
Friday, October 22, 2010

Issue No. 14

Fifth, sixth and seventh meetings on: The study on Canada's pandemic preparedness

Eighteenth meeting on: The study on the accessibility of post-secondary education in Canada

First (final) meeting on: Bill C-40, An Act to establish National Seniors Day

(Bill C-40)

(Special Study Budget 2010-2011 — Study on Canada's pandemic preparedness)


The Honourable Diane Ablonczy, P.C., M.P., Minister of State (Seniors)


Monday, October 18, 2010

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, Province of Ontario:

Allison Stuart, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Health Division.

Province of Ontario:

Dr. Arlene King, Chief Medical Officer of Health.

Province of Saskatchewan:

Dr. Moira McKinnon, Chief Medical Health Officer.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Dr. Gregory Taylor, Director General, Office of the Public Health Practice;

Dr. John Spika, Director General, Centre for Immunization and Respiratory Infectious Diseases.

Province of British Columbia:

Dr. Perry Kendall, Provincial Health Officer (by video conference).

Province of Nova Scotia:

Duff Montgomerie, Deputy Minister, Health Promotion and Protection.

Health Canada:

Glenda Yeates, Deputy Minister.

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Government of Nunavut:

Dr. Isaac Sobol, Chief Medical Officer of Health.

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs:

Ron Evans, Grand Chief.

Health Canada:

Shelagh Jane Woods, Director General, Primary Health Care and Public Health Directorate, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Paul Gully, Senior Medical Advisor.

Assembly of First Nations:

Angus Toulouse, Regional Chief.

Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada:

Dr. Darlene Kitty, Board Member.

Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami:

Mary Simon, President;

Elizabeth Ford, Director, Health and Social Development.

Aboriginal Nurses Association of Canada:

Rosella Kinoshameg, President.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Canadian Medical Association:

Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull, President;

Dr. Maura Ricketts, Director, Office of Public Health.

Canadian Nurses Association:

Claire Betker, Member, Board of Directors;

Joyce Douglas, Nurse Consultant.

Canadian Public Health Association:

Dr. Isra Levy, Member;

Debra Lynkowski, Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Healthcare Association:

Pamela Fralick, President and CEO.

Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs:

Robert Simonds, President.

Canadian Teachers' Federation:

Mary-Lou Donnelly, President;

Myles Ellis, Director of Economic and Member Services.

Federation of Canadian Municipalities:

Claude Dauphin, Third Vice-President;

Alain Normand, Member, Pandemic Preparedness Working Group.

Paramedic Association of Canada:

Greg Furlong, Director.

The Conference Board of Canada:

John Neily, Director, National Security and Public Safety.

Canadian Standards Association:

Suzanne Kiraly, Executive Vice-President, Government Relations.

Ontario Power Generation Inc.:

Gian Di Giambattista, Director, Emergency Management and Business Continuity.


Paul Smetanin, President and Chief Executive Officer.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Braley, Callbeck, Cordy, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, Eaton, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Martin, Merchant, Poirier, Seidman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C. (October 21, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (October 21, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C. (October 20, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Kochhar (October 20, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Kochhar replaced the Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C. (October 15, 2010).

Back to top