Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Issue No. 8

Third and fourth meetings on:

Bill C-18, An Act to reorganize the Canadian Wheat Board and to make consequential and related amendments to certain Acts


Thursday, December 8, 2011 (morning meeting)

Canadian Wheat Board:

Stewart Wells, Director;

Allen Oberg, Chair, Board of Directors;

Ian McCreary, Former Director;

Larry Hill, Former Chair, Board of Directors.

Canadian International Grains Institute:

Earl Geddes, Executive Director.

Inland Terminal Association of Canada:

Cliff Bell, General Manager, Westlock Terminals.

Thursday, December 8, 2011 (afternoon meeting)

National Farmers' Union:

Terry Boehm, President.

University of Saskatchewan:

Kenneth Rosaasen, Professor;

Murray Fulton, Professor.

Western Canadian Barley Growers Association:

Brian Otto, President.

Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association:

Kevin Bender, President.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Fernand Robichaud, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Duffy, Eaton, Fairbairn, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Mahovlich, Mercer, Ogilvie, Peterson, Plett, Rivard, Tkachuk

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ogilvie replaced the Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen (December 8, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen replaced the Honourable Senator Ogilvie (December 8, 2011).