Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Monday, September 24, 2012
Wednesday, September 26, 2012
Friday, September 28, 2012
Monday, October 1, 2012

Issue No. 23

Tenth, eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth meetings on:

Legal and political recognition of Métis identity in Canada


Monday, September 24, 2012

Ministry of Aboriginal and Northern Affairs Manitoba:

Eleanor Brockington, Director, Policy and Strategic Initiatives.

Manitoba Metis Federation:

David Chartrand, President;

David Boisvert, Policy Advisor.

Metis Child, Family and Community Services:

Eileen Sanderson, Kinship Care Worker.

Metis Culture and Heritage Resource Centre Inc.:

Randall Ranville, Genealogist.

As an individual:

Paul Chartrand, Retired Professor of Law.

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Métis Nation Saskatchewan:

Robert Doucette, President;

Gerald Morin, Vice-President;

Louis Gardiner, Treasurer.

Métis Family and Community Justice Services Saskatchewan Inc.:

Nora Cummings, Métis Senator;

Lynn LaRose, Chief Executive Officer.

Gabriel Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Applied Research Inc.:

Lisa Wilson, Director.

College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan:

Valerie Arnault-Pelletier, Aboriginal Coordinator.

As an individual:

Marilyn Poitras, Assistant Professor, University of Saskatchewan.

Friday, September 28, 2012

Métis Nation of Alberta:

Aaron Barner, Senior Executive Officer.

Rupertsland Institute:

Lorne Gladu, Chief Executive Officer.

As an individual:

Catherine Bell, Professor of Law.

Aboriginal Metis Citizens Alliance of Canada:

Garry Boudreau, President;

Brenda Blyan, Metis citizen.

Monday, October 1, 2012

Métis Nation of Greater Victoria:

Victoria Pruden, Vice-President.

Métis Nation of British Columbia:

Bruce Dumont, President;

Laurel Katernick, Director of Registry.

British Columbia Métis Federation:

Keith Henry, President;

Daryl Piper, Vice-President.

As individuals:

Terry Goulet, Metis historian;

George R.D. Goulet, Metis historian.

Kelly Lake Metis Settlement Society Inc.:

Lyle Letendre, President.

Vancouver Métis Community Association:

June Scudeler, President;

J. Paul Stevenson, Elder.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Lovelace Nicholas, Munson, Patterson, Raine, Sibbeston, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator White replaced the Honourable Senator Meredith (September 24, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Wallace (June 21, 2012).

Back to top