Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12-13

Chair: The Honourable VERNON WHITE

Wednesday, February 6, 2013
Tuesday, February 12, 2013
Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Issue No. 31

First, second and third meetings on:

Bill C-27, An Act to enhance the financial accountability and transparency of First Nations


Wednesday, February 6, 2013

The Honourable John Duncan, P.C., M.P., Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development


Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Brenda Kustra, Director General, Governance Branch, Regional Operations Sector;

Anne Scotton, Chief Audit and Evaluation Executive, Audit and Evaluation Sector;

Susan MacGowan, Chief Financial Officer, Chief Financial Officer Sector.

Justice Canada:

Karl Jacques, Senior Counsel, Operations and Programs.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Sawridge First Nation:

Roland Twinn, Chief;

Michael R. McKinney, Executive Director.

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

First Nations Financial Management Board:

Harold Calla, Chairman;

Shayla Point, Senior Manager of Legal and Corporate Services.

Rosen & Associates Limited:

Alan Mak, Principal.

As individuals:

Michael Benedict, First Nations Tax Consultant;

Beverly Brown, Member, Squamish First Nation.


The Honourable Vernon White, Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Lovelace Nicholas, Marshall, Munson, Patterson, Raine, Seth, Sibbeston, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Meredith (February 14, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Meredith replaced the Honourable Senator Demers (February 12, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (February 7, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (February 7, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (February 6, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (January 11, 2013).

Back to top