Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

The Honourable JOHN D. WALLACE

Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Thursday, February 2, 2012

Issue No. 9

First and second meetings on:

Bill C-10, An Act to enact the Justice for Victims of Terrorism Act and to amend the State Immunity Act, the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and other Acts


The Honourable Robert Nicholson, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety


Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Department of Justice Canada:

Catherine Kane, Director General and senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Carole Morency, Director and General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Paul Saint-Denis, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Paula Kingston, Senior Counsel, Youth Justice and Strategic Initiatives Section.

Public Safety Canada:

Mary Campbell, Director General, Corrections and Criminal Justice Directorate;

Larisa Galadza, Senior Director, National Security Policy;

Daryl Churney, Director, Corrections Policy.

Thursday, February 2, 2012

Government of Nunavut:

The Honourable Daniel Shewchuk, Minister of Justice;

Norman Tarnow, Acting Deputy Minister of Justice;

Stephen Mansell, Director, Policy and Planning.

Canadian Police Association:

Tom Stamatakis, President.


The Honourable John D. Wallace, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Chaput, *Cowan (or Tardif), Frum, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Meredith, Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Meredith replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (February 1, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator Meredith (January 31, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Joyal, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Dawson (December 15, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Baker, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Mercer (December 15, 2011).

Back to top