Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

The Honourable JOHN D. WALLACE

Wednesday, February 15, 2012
Thursday, February 16, 2012

Issue No. 11

Fifth and sixth meetings on:

Bill C-10, An Act to enact the Justice for Victims of Terrorism Act and to amend the State Immunity Act, the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and other Acts


Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Superintendent Eric Slinn, Director, Drug Branch.

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Barry D. MacKnight, Chief of Police, Fredericton Police Force.

Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse:

Rebecca Jesseman, Research and Policy Analyst;

Heather Clark, Research and Policy Analyst.

Drug Prevention Network of Canada:

Gwendolyn Landolt, Vice President.

As an individual:

Dr. Gabriella Gobbi, Psychiatrist and Neuroscientist, Associate Professor, McGill University.

Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak, Inc.:

Michael Anderson, Research Director, Natural Resources Secretariat;

Ron Evans, Chief, Norway House Cree Nation.

Legal Services Board of Nunavut:

Scott Wheildon, Criminal Law Counsel.

As an individual:

Darryl Plecas, Director, Centre for Criminal Justice Research, University of the Fraser Valley (by video conference).

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Public Safety Canada:

Daryl Churney, Director, Corrections Policy.

Canadian Civil Liberties Association:

Nathalie Des Rosiers, General Counsel.

As individuals:

John Conroy, Lawyer (by video conference);

Fannie Lafontaine, Professor, Faculty of Law, Université Laval.


The Honourable John D. Wallace, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Chaput, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dagenais, Frum, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator Meredith (February 16, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Meredith replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (February 15, 2012).

Back to top